Skip to content

Research and Re-research by Megan Stark

February 25, 2014

My writing process always stems from my belief that writing is hard. Even writing badly is hard. So to write well requires a whole lot of dedication and persistence. For me, it looks something like this:

I read an article or hear an idea that makes me think. (The articles and ideas that don’t make me think I discard. Probably too readily.) The beginning of my writing process is reading, reading, reading. I keep track of the topics that interest me in a RefWorks folder where I can easily export things I find. I do this because I am really annoyed at having to re-find something later. But then, I print out everything and make lots of notes in the margins. I underline the phrases I like. And then I think. And read some more. I usually read a lot of the works cited in the articles I like. I see if there’s anything else the author has written that is equally interesting. I believe that I do extensive researching/reading in order to give my brain the space it needs to sort out an idea before I start writing. When I write, I am very organized because I know that I will want to write straight through the piece without distractions. I create a rough outline with sections and I almost always know where I will place all my cited material before I write my own words. This sounds strange, but I think it works because I have given myself so much time, by reading and researching, to think through my response. I already know what I will say, and how. It’s just a matter of pulling the pieces all together. When I begin actually writing, I usually do nothing else for days. I write all hours of the day, although I write my best material late at night. I like to think about more precise vocabulary and more elegant sentences when I’m getting ready for bed. I almost always discover that I have repeated the same word too many times in a piece, and so I rely on my before-bed practice (and a very handy thesaurus app) to correct this problem.

I do not draft anything by hand. I keep a word file going and I back it up many, many different ways.

Once I consider the piece finished (which is a hard decision to make), I let it sit for a few days. I re-research the topic using insights that struck me as I was writing. If I find more material, I integrate it. I fuss about formatting (more than I should) and I double and triple check my citations. I even google some of my phrases to make sure that I have kept my voice separate from those I cited. I share this with select, trusted colleagues and I almost always take their advice without question. That is the value of a good reader! At the very end, I write my title. I think titles are terribly hard and I feel a lot of pressure to find a pithy, clever, enticing title. I am not ever very happy with my title. When I submit my writing I don’t like to share this step with others. Just seems like an unnecessary jinx, you know?

Megan Stark is an Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Services Librarian at the Mansfield Library.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

